Gizmos Latest Gift…

Gizmo is getting some well deserved rest. Hes had a busy few days….

Gizmo snoozing

Since his first hunting expeditions inside the house (catching flies, spiders, etc), Giz has continued to develop his skills outside too. I was beginning to think the he is a vegetarian cat as he hadn’t brought home anything ‘living’ (and to be fair, I’m still waiting for him to dispel this theory, one way or the other) but this week, he has been excelling himself with his hunting skills, and he has been bringing presents home…

We are used to Giz collecting an array of elastic bands that our clumsy postman seems to drop on a daily basis outside our house. Our collection of elastic bands is now so large, that we will probably never have to consider purchasing elastic bands ever again if Giz insists on picking them up and bringing them home. Alternatively, we could try selling them back to Royal Mail?! I suppose we should be thankful that Giz is ‘doing his bit’ for keeping our neighbourhood tidy!? If only we could say the same about our postman…

Yesterday morning, I woke up to find Gizmos’ latest offering. Rather worringly, he left it on top of the dining room table, happily putting his latest trophy on display, but luckily it was only a gigantic brown leaf, and wasn’t likely to go anywhere, or cause much mess. However,  I hope Giz isn’t going to use the dining room table to display his achievements on a regular basis?!!

Although I was impressed that he somehow managed to carry this leaf home and place it on the table with minimal damage to the leaf, I think I offended him by putting the leaf in the bin without telling him how clever and careful he must have been to retrieve the leaf. I guess I should be grateful that the dining room table is a better way to display his prey, than my bed… He did go through a phase of bringing his toys into my room and dumping them on my bed, usually next to my head…?! This hasn’t happened for a while, so I’m hoping he has forgotten about this game…especially if he brings home anything that is still alive…

Not one to be outdone (and determined to impress after the leaf incident), this morning Giz was at it again… When I emerged from my bedroom at 5am, in the darkness I could just about see an object on the floor. The item was dumped right outside my bedroom door; on purpose, I suspected. It was about 3 cm long, and not moving. I’m used to Giz littering the hallway with a selection of his toys overnight (unfortunately, he has got into the habit of ‘demonstrating’ each of his toys in the hallway between 2am and 4am, under the influence of catnip, making as much noise as possible, and sounding like he is having a jolly good time!), but this mystery object wasn’t put in the usual place…

Taking a deep breath, I reluctantly turned the bedroom light on to see what the mystery item was, and there lay the tiniest shrew I’ve ever seen in my life. Totally intact, with no missing limbs, and no sign of obvious injury, apart from the fact it was totally dead of course. In fairness to Giz, the shrew was about the same size as his favourite miniature little blue mouse…

IMG_20160627_115923660

Well done Giz, I AM impressed by your latest hunting prowess, but you really don’t have to bring back ‘live gifts’ for me. I’m quite content to keep receiving the elastic bands…

 

3 thoughts on “Gizmos Latest Gift…

  1. lifewithwhimsyblog says:

    Poor little thing, it probably died of fright! Giz is so beautiful though, he’s sure to be forgiven anything! My Effie has had to be hastily fetched in a few times when I’ve seen her stalking a fledgling and my eldest son wrestled a frog from her mouth! She wasn’t happy but spent ages after trying to wash the obviously nasty (from her expression) taste from her mouth and paws! Hasn’t stopped the pond being her fave stalking ground though!

    Liked by 1 person

Gizmo would love to hear your thoughts...

